Who doesn’t love cupcakes?

I made cupcakes for the first time today! :D (Yay!)

I always loved them, they look so colorful, and vibrant, and delicious, and happyful.

I was afraid of screwing them up since I’ve never sifted flour (I didn’t know it was so easy :P ). I’ve been looking at them for weeks, thinking of how much a beautiful experience it would be to eat them. :D Finally today I gathered up the courage and made them for the first time!

I took the recipe from Allrecipes, my favorite site for recipes!

What did I make? Red Velvet Cupcakes! :D

Here is the process shown:

First, was mixing the batter, to make it smooth, light, and fluffy… This is with added food coloring. ;)

Next, putting the batter into each cupcake holder… That was a little difficult to do since I’m a beginner. I guess it shows. :P

20 mins later… yay! They look as they should! :D Step one, success! ;)

(Although it seems I didn’t put it evenly :P Oh well!)

(Emmm, please excuse the state of the oven top, but I was cooking before baking and didn’t clean it yet. ;) )

So, the frosting next! As I was making it, I thought that the recipe wanted a lot of sugar, but I considered that this is how cupcakes are and did the whole thing.

I put the frosting on top, but I refrained from posting it here because the frosting on top flopped on the cupcake with no shape, and it doesn’t look good. :P

Done! :D

M. tried one. He liked it, but added that it was a killer, that there was really too much sugar. I told him that’s what the recipe said, that’s what I did, and next time I’ll look up a different recipe.

He couldn’t believe that one recipe could be such a “killer” in sugar, so he went to the pc and see the recipe himself. And…. it seems I made a mistake….Whoops….

The recipe ingredients list is for 30 cupcakes. I made 12. Allrecipes converts immediately the necessary amount… But it seems not the numbers in parentheses. I didn’t know this…. Whoops. So, basically, I used 16 oz. (473 ml) of confectioner’s sugar for 12 cupcakes…!!!! O____O

Yikes!!!!

They really are a “killer”. I ate ONE, and my stomach is in such pain now. :( X_X It sits like a rock in your stomach.

While I was mixing the batter, he noticed that I had used the whole bottle of red food coloring, and commented that it was really a lot, but I told him that this is how Red Velvet Cupcakes are. Well… guess what. :P That amount was also in parentheses. Whoops. So, half a bottle wasted. :( And it was so expensive… 1 oz. red food coloring (which is how much I put in total when I should have put half or less), was 5,50 euros!!! O_O Goodness, Finland is so f$%#ing expensive. :/

Oh well.! ;) It was my first time making cupcakes after all. Plus I am a novice cook. :P Plus I didn’t know this “bug” in the Allrecipes site. Next time I’ll know!

As a tribute to the wonderful world of cupcakes, I present to you photos that I found off the internet (= no, I did not make these :P )

Lets – ee – gooooo! Super Mario!!! :D

These are so CUTE!!!

Have you started to drool yet? :D

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shara
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 20:36:25

    You make the best cupcakes ever in the history of cupcakes… I’m in total awe right now… THEY’RE AWESOME I WANT TO KEEP THEM SO BADLY!!! Oh and I really like the Mario one that was original. Muffins are a good idea as well. It wouldn’t hurt to maybe add frosting to some either. hehehe

    Reply

  2. Jay
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 08:34:10

    Congratulations on your first cup cakes. There are worse sins than using too much sugar. You could’ve substituted salt for sugar instead! :P – Now it’s time to turn your attention to muffins :) a healthier alternative! :)

    Reply

  3. The Blade of Light
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 13:23:32

    Hehehe … the too sweet sin of candy cooking, eh .?. ;-) :P

    It was a very good effort and result imho, considering that the only thing that went wrong were the analogies and that wasn’t actually your fault … methinks that you should consider cooking more as a creative hobby and less as something that needs to be done, cause you seem to have a talent in it (most people’s first time in doing a recipie can be quite hazardous, compared to your effort. :P :-) ).

    Reply

    • drusillah
      Jul 13, 2010 @ 15:11:01

      Thanks! :D You think so? Hmmm… It’s hard to imagine it as a hobby when I taste food and cannot correctly indentify what’s inside, but maybe that comes with experience… I’ll consider it! :)

      Reply

  4. Mirellarose
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 22:19:44

    who doesnt love cupcakes? seriously!?

    I’d say you did pretty well! Here are some hints my mom has for baking. To get the portions right about how much dough you put for each cookie/cupcake/ thing (whatever lol) Either use two spoons, scoop with one and push the dough/batter off with the other, or see if you can buy one of those fancy icecream scoops that has the pushy thing so the thingy whooshes and the batter slides off. ok that makes absolutely NO sense. gah I dont know how to explain… Ok, tomorrow I’m taking pictures for you. XD Lol cause I will never be able to explain. I’ll even edit them so you get arrows and diagrams and little notations. XD. Lol i really have no clue how to describe it but it works!

    ANyways, I’m such an air head… I did something worse than your mistakes with the conversions. My mom made a batch of sugar cookies about a week ago. Why could I not make them? I’ll tell you why. THe recipe was hand written by my mother from when we were little. (She even wrote “One of the Twins’ favourites” surrounded by hearts… apparently she made them every other day because the four of us ate them so fast *guilty as charged* tehehe). Anyways so the recipe says the dough needs to be refridgerated for 24 hours. It was 6 in the evening and I was distraught cause I had thought it was something like overnight or for a few hours and I was hoping to have them for breakfast… hmph! (pouty face. lol i had such a craving I was in agony!!! haha…. and it had been ages since I had had any sort of cookie…which is really weird) Also, I was going out with a friend later and was thinking of bringing her a couple. So I go out with friend and come home to find dough made. Another reminder of how I wouldnt be able to have them. My mom comes into the kitchen and starts cuting them, all the while laughing her head off. It said 2 Hrs. I mistook her H for a 4 and my mind filled in the imaginary blank…

    damn. Now I have a craving for cupcakes. hmph!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

