Ratings and Personas

Heippa! πŸ˜›

Some days ago (I don’t remember how many, maybe it was even a week) I put a flag counter on the right side, just out of curiosity of where people come from. πŸ™‚

Just now I also put a ratings bar under each post, but I am not sure yet if it’s a good idea…. I am just afraid of posts being rated as “very poor” for example, and then my whatever-confidence I’d had for posting it would waver. Well but anyway, it shouldn’t be a big deal… Even if someone does it, it doesn’t mean something about my personality. Right? πŸ˜›

I also discovered these “Personas for Firefox”. I don’t think they are THAT great, but I am trying it for a bit to see how it works out. But at the moment I can’t see any url at the address bar, it’s white text on white background. πŸ˜›

Developing new things for Firefox is nice, but changing the image behind the tabs isn’t such a big deal. The whole skin should change I think, not just a thin strip of a background. (Oh, I just noticed that it’s a bit on the bottom as well).

Right now I would rate my own post as average. πŸ˜› But it’s because I don’t have something to say at the moment. Twice I thought of something during the night and thought I should write it here, but now it eludes my memory.

One thing I like about people who keep their word… is that they say “let’s meet” and they actually call you to meet. They mean what they say, and so you know to take what they say seriously. Not like people who say and say, “we should go out sometime!” and then nothing. Or is it a ball game? Oh, you threw the first ball by suggesting it, and now the ball is in my field, and I have to actually call you? Well, when one suggests something, it means they want it. So, go out and get what you want. Don’t wait for the other person with the “ball in their field”. These games are most of the time ridiculous.

4 thoughts on “Ratings and Personas

  1. The Blade of Light says:

    > Not like people who say and say, β€œwe should go out sometime!” and then nothing.

    Considering that I do that a lot, maybe I should defend this concept first in general and then in the specific.

    In general :
    Many people use it out of nervousness or habit since it is a good way of disentangling themselves from a chance meeting and keeping it brief.

    Other people honestly mean it, but forget about their promise (known as “people of the moment”) unless it was very specific.

    Other people do it on a faked friendly attitude.

    In the specific :

    I do it when I *really* want to go out with those people sometime, but the whole thing of going out is really out of my character. I am not a person that goes out of his own volition … I am a person that you have to drag out of his house ! πŸ˜›

    In one word I am an introvert. So while I would love to go meet up with those people, I do not know when and where (I simply do not) and I suck at arranging meetings (I simply do).

    Another matter in my destroyed brain is that when I say such a thing to people that I haven’t seen in quite a while, I have no idea if they want such a meeting as well, so calling them is like enforcing that meeting on them or forcing them to lie to me to avoid me and, frankly, both options are not really good imho. The idea that they might want to go out with me and have a drink as well, seems preposterous because when I think of it, so there you have it.

    Ergo, I am not lying when I say it … I just forget that I cannot really get myself to stop thinking about it and just arrange it. 😐 … Fortunately people around me either know that or do not care about it … πŸ˜›

    • Well you have arranged much more important matters … πŸ˜› Why should this be difficult? πŸ™‚

      > I do not know when and where (I simply do not) and I suck at arranging meetings (I simply do).

      Well, did I for example think of such a difficult situation for us all to go out? πŸ˜› You know where … It can be just the usual. When? Propose something and the others will say if they agree or not, and if not they should propose. Arranging: Send 5 sms for example and say “Do you want to go out Saturday to play basketball/DnD/watch movie/coffee/etc.? Do it to your good friends and someone is bound to answer yes, unless some of them live 400-500 km away πŸ˜›
      Ok I am making it seem simple now, and for you it’s not, but sometimes it’s good to see things the simple way. xD

      > Many people use it out of nervousness or habit since it is a good way of disentangling themselves from a chance meeting and keeping it brief.

      Just because many people use it, doesn’t mean it’s the right thing to do. Words and phrases shouldn’t be used just like that… For nothing.

      This whole concept of “not saying what you mean” and “suggesting an outing and never going through with it” is starting to piss me off in general.

      I am not talking necessarily about introverted people, I want to know the other person MEANS it. If they mean it but is too reserved to arrange it, fine, I will. But I hate it when people say things they don’t mean.

      • The Blade of Light says:

        > Ok I am making it seem simple now, and for you it’s not, but sometimes it’s good to see things the simple way. xD

        True that, but nobody is perfect … something that is and sounds simple, for other people might be a small mountain of effort … πŸ˜›

        > Just because many people use it, doesn’t mean it’s the right thing to do.

        I never said that some of its uses were right, I just gave the most common reasons behind the phrase.

        > But I hate it when people say things they don’t mean.

        Well, who can blame you for that .?.

        P.S.

        Relative with the topic and this :
        >unless some of them live 400-500 km away

        I bit over the top, meaning-wise, but still very fitting, imho. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

