The hype about Skype

Hi hi πŸ™‚

Do you have a Skype account? I am sure you do. πŸ˜‰ It has become essential in everyday living πŸ˜›

Especially for those that live far from each other, whether it’s friends, or colleagues, or lovers, or family. This way you can communicate, have a call with video, simply chat, or talk as if on the phone. πŸ™‚ Even audio conferences, that is so cool! πŸ˜€

I’ve even heard of interviews being done through Skype, because the two were situated in different countries! πŸ™‚

Right now, 20 people are online from my list. Out of those… 14 have the status “available”. The rest have “away”. The older version of Skype had an additional status, that of “not available”. It’s a pity they did away with it.

Plus it’s light, it has cute emoticons (you cannot add your own though), text you paste from someone else is automatically quoted, and other nice features. πŸ™‚

I really like it, personally. πŸ™‚ I use it even for simply chatting. Even though MSN is nice because you can add your own emoticons, in my opinion Skype is lighter, and has a cleaner look to it.

But for compatibility purposes, I have both. πŸ˜› (Compatibility with who uses what. :P)

Come to think, that’s a very important issue in computers. How many people have a certain program and who. For example I wanted to try ICQ a while back, but only one person I knew had an account there, and another friend I asked to join me there didn’t like the look and feel of it. So, what can I do? πŸ˜› I cannot use it on my own. So it’s the power of numbers here, me thinks.

If everyone was using Linux instead of Windows, then there would be more support for drivers, games would be developed for Linux, etc. Why is EA Games for example not releasing her games for Linux? Well a small percentage uses Linux, still. The fan base is growing, but still there are many many people out there who want something simple, who have heard and have been taught about Windows, and know little about working with computers. So, who will EA Games release the games for? The majority of course. πŸ˜›

Hmm … I don’t know why suddenly I got the urge to talk about such matters, but I wanted to post my personal statistics of Skype (how many are online, etc.) and therefore a new post was born. xD πŸ˜›

What is your opinion on Skype, MSN, and all that jazz? πŸ˜›

3 thoughts on “The hype about Skype

  1. starhedgehog says:

    I prefer Trillian. Before I had all the imaginable messengers, now I only have to remember to launch one and I’m logged on to all of them. Very practical with multiple e-mail-accounts, I can check all my inbox’s (and believe me there are too many of them) with one glance! πŸ™‚

    • πŸ˜€ I also used to create many email addresses, but now I only have a few πŸ˜›
      Can one add custom emoticons on Trillian? For my sister that’s quite important I think xD

Leave a Reply

