Travelling by Interrail …

I am thinking of an Interrail trip … It will be my first time to do such a thing. To go backpacking somewhere, instead of in and out of airports. I’ve travelled quite a bit with planes, but that is much more different.

I would prefer to go with a friend or a group of friends… But if nobody is available to come (and I don’t know who to ask), then maybe I should just go on my own. If I don’t go on my own when there is nobody to join me, it is like admitting that I am afraid of the unknown, afraid of being alone, afraid of just being with myself.

Well, frankly, I’m afraid that I’ll get bored. ๐Ÿ˜› Having nobody to talk to… I mean yes, I will see many beautiful places, but if there is nobody to share that with or have a little chit-chat with… What is the point of seeing those places alone? So I am thinking that maybe this trip isn’t about seeing the world. Maybe it’s about proving something to myself. Is it worth it? Hmmm … I don’t want to look back and regret not going. I will have some days free, so why not?

But then again, I have never planned such a trip. I have never actually planned any trip in such detail. To decide where to go, where to stay, how long, etc. It’s mind-boggling. And all the different sites with so much information…. I get a headache just thinking about it.

I think Benelux is a good option… What do you think? ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Travelling by Interrail …

  1. The Blade of Light says:

    The Benelux does sound nice as a visiting place the idea is what worries me … Backpacking in Northern Europe in the winter, is much like walking to Jannena through Pindos … great view, great place, unique experience, but still not such of a great idea if you are to go there alone, imho, and that is a fact for every person and so it means nothing on whether they can do things on their own or not.

    And then there is this :

    > If I donโ€™t go on my own when there is nobody to join me, it is like admitting that I am afraid of the unknown, afraid of being alone, afraid of just being with myself.

    Or maybe it is like admitting that having vacations alone is like having Easter celebrations and eating a whole roast lamb on your own and clanging your beer flagon with your own self, sitting in a huge table full of food but with no-one around.

    The lamb and the beer might still be fantastic, but most of the whole fun is missing, really.

    You do not have to prove anything to yourself, just for the sake of it, but only if you really NEED it. Yeah, I know how nice it is to say to yourself “I did it ! I never expected it, but I made it” (I’ve done some similar choices myself), but in order to endure till you reach your limits you have to know exactly why you are up there trying to achieve something, else you might not like it or leave it unfinished and then blame yourself over it.

    Everything special we do needs a drive, a fire to burn into us in order to be achieved. Doing something just for the sake of it, sometimes is just not enough.

    And I am not saying all these to be annoying or pessimistic or steer you away of your choice, but I just believe that friends are not only for cheering us along the way even if leads to a cliff, but they should also be pointing the bumps on the road we have chosen and give a hand.

    So, I am really hoping that the trip will be grand fun, but, imho, before you set out to somewhere, you need to determine why in order to achieve it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • > Backpacking in Northern Europe in the winter

      Well hopefully it won’t be too bad! Unfortunately it won’t be like Spring of Summer, but if it should be Winter, then I hope there will be snow! ๐Ÿ˜€

      > Or maybe it is like admitting that having vacations alone is like having Easter celebrations and eating a whole roast lamb on your own and clanging your beer flagon with your own self, sitting in a huge table full of food but with no-one around.

      Well yes, that is another way to look at it… xD True.

      > but they should also be pointing the bumps on the road we have chosen and give a hand.

      ^__^

  2. starhedgehog says:

    Benelux and it’s surroundings is always a good choice, easy to get lots of countries on your list without too much effort. Too bad the Orient Express isn’t running anymore, that I’m sure would have been amazing way to travel. What about Eurostar from Paris to London after those Benelux countries? That might be a nice experience too. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

