The World’s 10 Most Influential Languages

Map showing the distribution of language famil...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve never really learned a foreign language well. In school we had French, but the teacher was horrible. Now that the time has come for me to learn a few, I’m worried. :/

I want to learn Japanese. I should learn Finnish. It would be nice to know French. Not to mention Slovak.

From where do I start?!

How do I start… ?

Self-learning is not effective enough I think. Life gets in the way, and studying can take the back seat.

What languages do you know/want to learn?

Here are a few statistics that state the top languages of the world.

The World’s 10 most influential Languages by George Weber

List of languages by number of native speakers

The World’s Most Widely Spoken Languages

List of languages by total number of speakers

List of languages by name



4 thoughts on “The World’s 10 Most Influential Languages

  1. kata says:

    Hi Fotini,

    Just read your previous writing. I think it might be a good idea to take e.g. some language course (Finnish πŸ˜‰ Japanese etc.) at the uni (if you haven`t studied any languages before). And make sure that the teacher is professionally skilled. Then you can better understand what it is to learn a language in general, and another thing is that the learning should always be somehow regular/organized (usually one needs to repeat things min. 3 times before one really learns them).

    What I want to say is that don`t worry, just start learning/practising πŸ™‚
    (I know, so much easier to say than realize!)
    xx

    • Hi Kata!!

      Thank you for your comment :):) Hmm yes you are right, I also feel there should be some organization/system behind the learning. Hehe indeed, easier to say than do! πŸ˜›

  2. Jana N. says:

    My dear Fotini,

    first of all, Slovak is really not necessary language. Discard this one from your list. We all speak English and mum is studying really hard every single day to catch us, so you won’t need it πŸ˜‰ After all, it’s pretty hard to learn Slovak.

    I think the best language to start with is French. And of course, Japanese is beautiful language and I think you would take it as a hobby not as a hard study.

    And how and where to start? Good question. When you find the answer, let me know πŸ™‚ I am in the same dilemma as you are. I would like to speak fluently German and Spanish. The first one is a necessary as I understood recently (we live next to Austria and Germany, it’s a must!) and Spanish is just for fun.

    Good luck with your future study and keep me posted how it’s going πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Jana!

      Thank you very much for the comment πŸ™‚

      Well, at least some things to know from Slovak. That’s very admirable that your mom is learning English πŸ™‚

      True, you are only an hour away. Spanish is quite widely spoken and of course German is as well, so you will benefit of course with interaction.

      Thank you! Good luck to you as well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

