Street Awkwardness

I can’t get over how AWKWARD it is to cross paths with a stranger on the street, especially when it’s just the two of you.

You see each other coming from the distance…

WHERE do you look? What do you do?

And then finally when you are so near….

WHERE do you look?!

Suddenly the street on the other side becomes very interesting… Or the car passing by.

I always feel super awkward when this happens. I would like to smile and say hello. But in big cities that doesn’t really happen. Of course I could do it anyway, that’s true.

Of course if I am lost in my thoughts that’s a different matter. But one person coming your way is hard to miss.

What do you usually do? How do you behave? Do you look at the person in the eyes, and the look away? Do you pretend you are looking at your phone, nails, purse, shoes, anything else you may find available?

I think we should all say hello. It’s not nice to ignore someone that you know is right there. And why not say hello in big cities? We will all benefit from a little extra kindness/courtesy.

4 thoughts on “Street Awkwardness

  1. Oh yes! This happens with me a lot of times. And not just with strangers. Also during times when you’re supposed to meet a friend, for example.
    You see them walking and you’re heading towards him/her to meet up. Where are you supposed to look? You can’t grin at them for 25 steps, can you? Will look pretty stupid!

    I pretend to adjust my watch, of put my mobile away in the bag, or something that takes up a few seconds, while I’m close enough to smile and shake hands. Phew!

    • Haha, indeed! Very true, the same happens to me too. Like when my friend is across the street and I am waiting to cross it. I initially smile at them, then turn to look at the cars till I can cross and smile again 😛

      If it’s a very good friend I sometimes try to look at them till we reach each other. Otherwise I do as you 🙂

  2. The Blade of Light says:

    > I think we should all say hello. It’s not nice to ignore someone that you know is right there. And why not say hello in big cities? We will all benefit from a little extra kindness/courtesy.

    There is one practical reason for this … you wouldn’t stop saying “Hello” all day … 😛
    Imagine a crowded street and you walking in it … how many people can you say “hello” to before you actually get tired or frustrated .?.

    In small cities like mine something like that has merit and I do it usually, but when I go out I meet few people … in a big city such an idea is nice, but impractical. ;-p

    • Hahaha, Estelle made the same comment. Either I didn’t make myself clear or both of you read too quicky, haha! 😛

      I didn’t mean a crowded street where one is lost in thoughts, in a hurry, etc. I meant a more-or-less empty street where you and the other person see each other coming from the distance. 😛

Leave a Reply

