A Tribute to Music Geniuses

I cannot get over how talented some people are…

And I have endless respect for their work.

I am talking about music composers, of course.

What pool of endless creativity do they possess?

What kind of feelings do these brilliant people have?

This one, after 2:06 …

I cannot comprehend how someone thought of this amazing and brilliant piece of art.

And there are many other masterpieces out there.

This song… It transports you to another world. I cannot explain it.

How can such a monster of creation (it’s a Greek expression) be compared to modern songs, Lady Gaga for example?! Don’t you dare compare them to my face.

Such music like Eptesicus, is… epic.

And it is supposed to be so. It is supposed to provoke great feelings from inside you. But that’s ok. It doesn’t matter. What matters is that moment when you listen to the composed music, and it flows all around and within you, flooding you with all the feelings it wants to give.

Hans Zimmer, John Williams, Jeremy Soule, how can I ever thank you enough? How can I express my immense gratitude and respect for you? Movies would not be the same without you. I would not be the same without you. You have given hope when times were dark, a ray of light in the shadows. With you I have felt courage, and determination. An unseen friend.

Your mark will not go unseen or forgotten.

Unfortunately my vocabulary is not very rich, so I cannot think of anymore adjectives to describe my feelings for what you do and what you have created.

Credit should be given where credit is due. Eptesicus was written by James Newton Howard who collaborated with Hans Zimmer for the Batman Begins film score. And of course all my praise and awe goes to him as well, not only to the three that I mentioned above. This particular piece you created is a masterpiece.

Oh, how I would love to watch a rendition of such works of art in person. In a great hall, by an orchestra of course. Opportunities like these are once-in-a-lifetime.

P.S. Look at me. It’s 03:30 in the wee hours of the morning, unable to unglue myself from the chair and interrupt my reverie. I simply don’t want to, yet.

How did I stumble on this after so many years? The series Heroes has this very song in the first episode of Season 1. And if you ask me, they couldn’t have picked a better and more fitting song to start with. As soon as I heard the first notes, I knew it was from Batman Begins. πŸ™‚

I will paste here what we first hear in the pilot episode. I like it a lot, so I wanted to share it with you. Of course it’s not the same reading it and hearing it, so I urge you to watch those first few minutes. You may end up watching a whole series. πŸ™‚

Where does it come from?
This quest, this need to solve life’s mysteries,
when the simplest of questions can never be answered.
Why are we here?
What is the soul?
Why do we dream?
Perhaps we’d be better off not looking at all.
Not delving, not yearning.
That’s not human nature.
Not the human heart.
That is not why we are here.

11 thoughts on “A Tribute to Music Geniuses

  1. Aezandris says:

    Well, since Blade covered me in almost everything I wanted to write, I will only add one more thing. It’s good to praise those who write great music, but do not forget those who perform too. Arjen writes inspired songs, but those songs would probably have gone completely unnoticed if he hadn’t chosen his performers well. For example, I don’t know how Bach would have played this song

    had he been alive, but Karl Richter performs it beautifully.

    On another note. Let me contribute a few songs I think should be shared.

    Since you mentioned them
    By Hans Zimmer

    I don’t know exactly why, but I love this song. It’s probably because its dark and epic, and coupled with my imagination I’ve though dozens of fantasy scenes accompanied with this theme. ^_^

    By John Williams

    It’s small, but its THE Peter Pan theme for me.

    And through searching music I found this

    and

    And even though Batman Begins marked a new epoch for the dark hero, let’s not forget the Bat’s past

    Danny Elfman
    and Batman Theme you might enjoy
    Mask of the Phantasm

    Ps: Second post in your blog … πŸ˜›

    • Thank you for the comment! I always like to get comments, especially thought-out ones and where good music is shared too.

      > coupled with my imagination I’ve though dozens of fantasy scenes accompanied with this theme. ^_^

      Good to know πŸ˜€ ! Well, I think each song touches every person in a different way. (Those who are touched by music, I know a person who doesn’t listen to music at ALL. O_O ) It’s a very nice song, I hadn’t heard it before ! ^^ I like those rises in the music tone (? I don’t know how to describe it.)

      Aaaah, Hook!! πŸ˜€ I love that movie and it’s music πŸ˜€ I’ll have to create another post just for Hook.

      I like the choir in Mask of the Phantasm ^^ I hadn’t heard those songs before!

      > Ps: Second post in your blog … πŸ˜›

      πŸ˜€ You should post some more, they are free and very welcome πŸ˜€ !

  2. The Blade of Light says:

    > Wow, you wrote me a comment??

    LoL ! I usually do, you know … πŸ˜›

    > All this time I thought I didn’t have one for this post, I must have overlooked the email notification. Sorry *hides*

    Hey, you do not need to apologize … it is your blog after all … πŸ™‚

    > Arjen is Dutch btw? I don’t remember. Yes it’s nice to see that he actually responded to some comments, with humour too

    Yup, he is Dutch and quite a funny fellow as well, as it would seem.

    > Interesting piece… Where are they from? The background is from the game? I didn’t quite understand what you meant with the blips and little sounds…

    The are Swedish iirc, but it is not the background music that is from old games, but ALL the music is in fact from old Commodore 64 and other such games actually before 1989 where the sound was just like a coin-up machine.

    So, considering how the original sound they had to work with sounded, I have to say that they made amazing compositions out of good, yet raw, mellodies.

    > Have a nice (Sun)day as well

    You too, Dru ! πŸ™‚

    • > LoL ! I usually do, you know …

      I didn’t mean it that way … ! I know that you do, and you’ve been very supportive of anything I do on the internet (be it blog or forum). And I very much appreciate and thank you for that πŸ™‚ ^^ (hug)

      > but ALL the music is in fact from old Commodore 64

      Eh? Even the guitar? πŸ˜›

      • The Blade of Light says:

        > I didn’t mean it that way … !

        I know that, but I couldn’t resist it. πŸ˜›

        > Eh? Even the guitar?

        Yup ! πŸ˜€
        Of course it didn’t sound like a guitar back then, so this is where these fellows came in and turned really inspired tunes to great tracks of super music !

        Another great example ( and the song I found them out from ) :

        Where you will recognise later in the song the sound of Bubble-Bobble … ;-p

      • The Blade of Light says:

        P.S. The ending guitar of that piece is one of the most inspiring/cool endings an instrumental can have … totally worth its time and, should I mention again that it was, and still is, a music piece distributed by the band for FREE ! πŸ™‚

      • The Blade of Light says:

        P.S. Again … ( sorry !)

        The link with the original games playing in the video !

        True vintage indeed … πŸ™‚

  3. The Blade of Light says:

    Creativity is indeed a mystery and it is something that it comes and goes as it wills and it cannot be forced in any way … it is true that I would love to see and hear some masterpiecies live, but in this age of information I will settle for one of those rare inspired artists explaining some of the tricks of his trade :

    The video was uploaded by the artist himself and, how rare in this age of psonia artists, he is actually keeping track of the comments (just after the first minute he explains some things about the variety of targets one can have with his talents, it is very interesting to hear someone say that “I knew I could never do this, so I actually did something else !” ). A small hail to this creative giant whose music I’ve been hearing for almost 14 years.

    Another note is that instipration can come from everything and, like Arjen, most people that are creative tend to be unknown in our little country.

    For example listen to this :

    ALL this music is a cover of Commodore64 game sounds and from those cute blips and little sounds they made that amazing piece ! Plus, they upload that kind of music for FREE in their site … creative and free … who said that everything we do has to be commercial .?. πŸ˜›

    Have a nice day ! πŸ™‚

    • Wow, you wrote me a comment?? All this time I thought I didn’t have one for this post, I must have overlooked the email notification. Sorry *hides*

      Arjen is Dutch btw? I don’t remember. Yes it’s nice to see that he actually responded to some comments, with humour too πŸ˜€

      Interesting piece… Where are they from? The background is from the game? I didn’t quite understand what you meant with the blips and little sounds…

      Have a nice (Sun)day as well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

