Emancipator – First Snow

Have I posted about Emancipator and who he is ?

I discovered him by accident, but I am very, very happy that I did so. I feel more intelligent in the music world, my horizons a bit more expanded, my mind a bit more open just because of his music.

Emancipator is one guy (his real name is Douglas Appling in case you were curious), and he self-released an album when he was only 19 !!! (That was in 2006 in case you were curious again). Here I feel like my life is rotting, at 26 years old with a thesis to write, and this guy self-releases an album, with songs that he wrote himself mind you, at 19. On one hand I feel awe when I think of it, on the other hand I feel depressed as to how my life is.

The first song I heard of his was Lionheart, and since then I’ve listened to a handful of his other ones from the same album, “Soon It Will Be Cold Enough”.

Music with deeper meaning, eliciting emotions from within and pulling at your heartstrings. Definitely not the typical “boom-boom” that you hear in pop music. Of course that is what genres are for but I’m just sayin’.

Here are the links to his main website and MySpace, to explore it further. Although do expect me to post his songs on this blog in the near future 😉

http://www.emancipatormusic.com/

http://www.myspace.com/emancipator

What images come to your mind while listening to “First Snow” ?

To some, it must seem like this young electronic producer came out of nowhere. Emancipator (Douglas Appling) played his first live show in July 2009, opening for Bonobo at the Roseland Theater (cap. 1500). Since then, he’s toured with Bassnectar, drawn crowds at festivals like Trinumeral and Symbiosis, and closed out Sound Tribe Sector 9’s late night parties in Denver at the request of the band. 

But those in the know have been following Emancipator since he self-released his first album, Soon It Will Be Cold Enough, at the age of 19 in 2006. His agile melodies layered over headnodic, immaculately-produced beats captivated fans across the internet and across the world. “Soon It Will Be Cold Enough” was picked up by Japanese super-producer Nujabes, pressed in Japan and sold 5,000 copies in the first six months. Emancipator landed a Puma sponsorship, gave an interview to Rolling Stone Japan, discovered one of his songs was played at the Beijing Olympics (still trying to figure out how that happened) and his song “Shook,” a mashup that perfectly mixes Mobb Deep’s mighty raps with a haunting track from the Icelandic band Sigur Ros, become the highest-rated song on Hype Machine’s “Best 50 Songs of 2007,” and appeared on Hype Machine as the #2 most popular song in April 2009. Meanwhile, fans waited hungrily for the next album.

Emancipator’s new Album “Safe In The Steep Cliffs” blends new instrumentation and organic samples with the signature Emancipator style of clean production, silky melodies and addictive drums. Dense layers of choirs, horns, American folk instruments such as the banjo and mandolin, violin and some distinct Asian influences make for a playful yet refined album built out of intricate tracks listeners can enjoy on as many levels as they want. Dance, chill, and immerse your mind in it starting January 19th 2010.

5 thoughts on “Emancipator – First Snow

  1. Estelle4565 says:

    Ah one more thing. I know of someone who was top of his class, representive in many school clubs, one of the best in his university and yet he was not happy. Professional success might boost ones ego, but can in no way make someone happy, if that is now what is the most important thing in the person’s mind. And even when it is, in the world we live in, ‘Your success is only as good as ur next success’ (as Lois Lein said). So success is not everything and sometimes it is nothing at all. 🙂

  2. Estelle4565 says:

    Just a quick comment for now and I will reply more in length later :p.
    Yes u have posted about him once more :p, and yes his music is wonderful, moving and a great source of strength when tired or dispirited.

    (More to come :D)

    P.S I will leave the window open so that I will remember to comment :p

    • A quick reply to your quick comment.

      > Yes u have posted about him once more :p

      My question was if I posted about who he is 😛 I know I posted a song of his, but I didn’t mention who he is, etc.

  3. The Blade of Light says:

    > What images come to your mind while listening to “First Snow” ?

    Wow ! Pretty impressive instrumental music and quite soothing ( I always like that 🙂 ) indeed … as to what images come to mind, somehow it is not the falling snow as it was intended, but the image of flying, soaring maybe, in a small sea of memories ( the speaking parts are to “blame” for that” ) …

    Maybe this song is a bit to blame, as well …

    I cannot hear a song with voices without being reminded of this one, and that creates the mental image of flying so, you see where this is going … 😛

    As for this :
    > Here I feel like my life is rotting, at 26 years old with a thesis to write, and this guy self-releases an album, with songs that he wrote himself mind you, at 19. On one hand I feel awe when I think of it, on the other hand I feel depressed as to how my life is.

    Whether we like it or not, people are not equal … not everyone is equally talented, not everyone is equally talented in everything, not eveyone is equally perceptive, not everyone has the same abilities. Also, not everyone grows up in the same environment ( which is very important – think of how many geniouses are LOST because they are born in countries where there isn’t even clean water, much less education or a place to use any talent you might have ) and even between highly capable people, not everyone is as lucky as the next one.

    So, imho, trying to compare people and their accomplishments is not really useful for anyone … yes, he was an acocmplished musician at 19 and a genious I knew is now on his way to being a university professor while I am trying to make ends meet …

    This is my sky, my limits, and because I know myself I see no reason why I should be be depressed by the reality of my limitations. Some people were given wings, others where not … but, hey, I LIKE walking anyway … ;-p

    Also, do not confuse professional successes and accomplishments with personal success. People have different standards and different goals and what, for us, might be the top of success might be for others nothing but a small step to their ultimate goals … goals which are not always in the business of bringing about happiness and anything really worth in life …

    Sometimes I think that we have all turned wrong somewhere as a species, especially when I go to the shop of an old female schoolmate of mine. She got married just after finishing school and now, at 26, she has with her husband a Pizza Restaurant, two kids and a smile on her face … somehow, I feel that people that go after success and geniouses that forever go after accomplishments are lacking in comparison with a regular person who found his/her meaning in life.

    Think about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

