Trying to learn a language?

… and you’re having difficulties? Some things may help πŸ™‚ A change of attitude, and a few adjustments to the way you learn could help. I found this blog yesterday, it looks nice so far. Fluent in 3 months

This program is for using flash cards and help you learn a language faster… I think it’s great πŸ˜€ I already learned a few Finnish words yesterday. Anki

Of course nothing will come of these if you don’t take it seriously and are determined. That’s probably why languages we learn in high school are never very good. Half-assed job and bad teachers will do the trick.

In middle school we had a French teacher, and she would make each of us read a passage from the day’s lesson. For months I was reading exceprts, and then one day while my friend D. and I returned blissfully back from school, she turns to me and says, “Why do you pronounce ‘non’ “? I asked her how it should sound. She said it’s pronounced, “no”. I was appalled. So long I was reading aloud and the teacher hadn’t even once corrected me!! What lovely teachers we had.

If you are in the process of learning a new language, then I would really like to hear what methods you are using, which language it is, and why! πŸ™‚ Share your thoughts πŸ˜‰

3 thoughts on “Trying to learn a language?

  1. The Blade of Light says:

    Music, movies and stuff really help a lot indeed not only along the way of learning, but along the way of preserving that knowledge as well.

    One of the best, and hardest, excersises is trying to find the lyrics out of songs, but most of the times words in songs are not being pronounced correctly or clearly, so there you have a really cool puzzle with words and sounds instead of pieces. πŸ™‚

    As for what language I tried to learn .?. Japanese and Byzantine music ( it IS like learning 8 languages at the same time !!! ), but so far I have failed to find time to study in either of them, so I am pretty much stagnant on the whole matter …

  2. I’ve studied several languages during my life. I find that it’s easiest to learn pronunciation by listening music on target language. You’ll also find new words that you can look up from your dictionary and you don’t forget them as easily as if they would be just a separate word without context.

    And of course if you have some special interests, it’s useful to try and read about the thing in the target language (internet is so useful for this). Since you already know the content pretty well you can concentrate on learning the language by reading something that is pleasant for you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

