Nobel Museum – 2008

Saturday, April 19, 2008

Heyyy !! πŸ˜€

I’m writing from ….. Stockholm !!! Woo hooo!!! πŸ˜€ I can’t believe I’m in Sweden!! Never really thought I’d come here, not so “soon” at least. xP

I’m in a 7/11, I bought internet to let A. know I’m here, and I know have 20 minutes left so that’s why I’m here! πŸ˜‰

We arrived here yesterday morning, and leave tomorrow afternoon. Three days are really TOO short to stay here … It’s really not enough.

It is the city of museums!! Truly there are so many museums here to visit, I don’t believe any other city has so many museums gathered. πŸ˜‰ I wish I could visit them all … The problem is that they close at 17:00, some at 15:00, so it doesn’t give you much time at all.

Yesterday we walked almost all day (literally)! We were with B., M., M., and T., visited churches, ate at a very nice Chinese restaurant (buffet for only 65 krones!! – the equivalence is 9.4 krones to a euro) and went through beautiful parks. After checking in the hostel and resting a bit, I went with M. to the Nobel museum.

…….

I have not words to describe my feeling in this museum. One hour of course is not enough … I hardly had enough time to read anything, hence enjoy it. One day I must visit it again. One day I will most definitely go again. The feeling in there… My feeling was more than awe, or amazement, or emotional. So many people over the years, sacrificed their lives to make a better world … So many souls spent long, tedious and dark hours, researching, studying, experimenting … All for humankind. There was a sort of contraption on the wall, from which “tags” of all the Nobelists hang, with the date, their picture, and what they got the Nobel prize for. Each “tag” would move across the wall, hanging from the contraption, and the next ones would wait in line. Ugh, I can’t describe it well.

9 minutes left to write … I will definitely “pause” this post and continue it when I get back to Jyvaskyla (which I miss already, btw!) because I don’t like it when I feel pressured.

Sweden is really expensive! x_x We were searching today for 2 hours (!) for a place to eat, and ended up eating in a pizzeria near our hostel. Which again wasn’t cheap, but much better than all the rest … (79 krones for a pizza smaller in size than Pizzeria Maria’s haha xD But it was very tasty! πŸ˜‰ ) I also went souvenir shopping … I didn’t find anything worthwhile for less than 3 euros! :/

But the city is very beautiful … ^^ I love it. I definitely want to come back here one day, and stay a week or more, to be able to enjoy everything fully. Even a week may not be enough … I will post pictures soon enough, after I return! πŸ˜‰

B. dreamt of eating ice-cream, so we all got ice-cream today! xD Peer-pressure … πŸ˜› haha. I got with Chocolate and Daim ! πŸ˜€ The girl at the counter was Greek-Swedish, and knew 6 lanuages, including Latin! How cool is that … πŸ˜‰

I don’t really see the Swedish stereotype here, of tall blonde people with striking blue eyes. :/ Where have they gone? πŸ˜› It seems most of the people here are with brown hair. xD

Well, there are 2:35 minutes left in my account, so I shall end this now my dear friends! But… ! It’s not over with! πŸ˜€ I shall continue when I return!

Ah, I’m so excited about that, because a day after that my two best friends will visit me!! πŸ˜€ Woo hoo!! ^^ It’ll be so fun and great … πŸ˜‰

Hope you are all well! Hugs from Stockholm!

Till we meet again my dear friends, I bid you farewell! ^^

*******

Hey again! πŸ˜‰

I promised to continue about Stockholm, so here I am! ^^

On Sunday I woke up “early” to go to the Nobel museum again and get the book I wanted, and was in front of the door around 10 – 10:15, only to find it barred shut. Why? Because it opened at 11. I was disapointed because I really wanted to buy something from the shop. I don’t know how many years will pass till I go to Stockholm again, so I wanted some sort of “souvenir” from there. I bought a Vanilla Latte at Espresso House and it was so good …. I think I would cry from the greatness of it. So with my coffee cup for company I sat at the square there overlooking the museum, and observed the passer-bys. A mother with 2 young boys and a little baby in a carriage came by, and was asking directions from a guy. Was she a single mother? Or did she simply not travel with her husband? If she is a single mother, I salute her for traveling in a
foreign country with 3 kids.

I found H., T., and Y. sitting by the water, and it was such a beautiful day. ^^ H. urged me to run to the Nobel museum while they would wait for M. a while, so I finally went. ^^ Thanks H.! πŸ˜€
I also managed to smuggle a picture of that contraption on the ceiling I tried to describe. A picture is worth a thousand words, so I will simply hope you can understand it. πŸ˜› This is the part where all of them are gathered, and then there is another part on the wall where there is room for each room to “glide”.

And yes I bought the book! πŸ˜› I will probably give it to myself as a birthday present. πŸ™‚ ^_^

We walked the whole day again, and visited the Skansen museum (Open-Air). It was nice, but I’ve seen better ones. You couldn’t go in the buildings, so I just felt as if I was in a zoo. All we saw were animals. xD Then we found a vegetarian buffet, it was great ! πŸ˜€ Haven’t been to a vegetarian restaurant before, and it was also a buffet ! Quite tasty … And then we left, sniff. I loved Stockholm. =) I recommend it to everyone! But not to go for 3 days, that’s too short a time …

Well I will close this for now, so till tomorrow my friends, I bid you farewell ! ^^

One thought on “Nobel Museum – 2008

  1. The Blade of Light says:

    Well, I am late in reading this (I have made quite a mess of my timeschedules these days ) but I really liked it … it was a great post Dru and it made me want to go there asap and see all these places as well. πŸ™‚

    P.S.
    > B. dreamt of eating ice-cream, so we all got ice-cream today! xD Peer-pressure … haha.

    Axaxaxa ! allo pou den thelate :Ppp

Leave a Reply

