Thor

I should be thinking up a witty introduction to the post, but what the hell. I’ll just come out and say it.

I watched the movie Thorย and loved it!!! Twice, no less. There might be a third. ๐Ÿ˜›

The music, the visuals, the character development. I liked it all.

For those that may not know, it is based on a comic (by Marvel Comics of course).

But Thor also belongs to Norse Mythology and is the god of thunder.

Damn, I wish I lived in a kingdom like Asgard. Plus it’s cool to be more than human, super good-looking, with powers.

The movie was directed byย Kenneth Branagh. Please, do direct more!!

My favorites?

Of course, Thor: (played by Chris Hemsworth)

I like his character development. Plus the way he’d look at and smile at Jane? squeeeee! I found myself smiling during their scenes โค ๐Ÿ™‚ I also liked his acting, especially when [spoiler!!!!!] Thor was cast out of Asgard by Odin and when Loki visited him in the compound.

Loki: (played by Tom Hiddleston)

The misunderstood andย under-appreciatedย god of mischief.

I am torn with who is first (plus why should Thor be always favorited? :P), but the reason why Loki is second is because he didn’t fall in love with any girl and therefore no squee moments. ๐Ÿ˜› He needs a girl though, someone to appreciate him and calm his inner turmoil.

But his acting…! I thought he was very good. When he was distraught especially. Squeee. (How many times have I squealed today? ๐Ÿ˜› I feel like a 16 year-old. )

If it was up to me, I’d have a movie showing mostly Thor and Loki and screw the rest. ๐Ÿ˜› On the other hand, there isn’t much squealing for Thor if Jane isn’t there, so ok Jane too. ๐Ÿ˜› (Well, I think she’s so pretty :D)

Plus Heimdall is so cool ๐Ÿ˜€ (played by Idris Elba)ย I would seriously want him in my kingdom.

What would the movie be without incredible music?

Here is a “sample” of the music! Composed by Patrick Doyle. I like it a lot after 1:00. Epic!

And let’s not forget the visuals… Damn I wish I lived in such a realm. I mean, come on, just LOOK at this place!! Look at the sky.

I really liked the part at the end, when both Jane and Thor smiled. But damn it, why couldn’t she have gone up with him? He could have brought her up with him, put her in a chamber to wait while he fights, and then fetch her and all would be well. Now they must have a long-distance relationship with no Skype or any other means of communication for that matter! Pah. Sniff.

If you want to make students interested in history or mythology, make an epic movie out of it. ๐Ÿ˜›

Have you watched the movie? What did you think?

7 thoughts on “Thor

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, and recently trashed a pompous movie reviewer from Boston who expected something to akin to Shakespeare, given Keneth Branaugh’s involvement. Why would someone expect Shakespeare from something that is based on a comic book? Anyway, I thought it was a great bit of fantasy and fluff. I must admit, however, I did not experience a “squee” moment. Question: is Asguard some how suggestive of Uranus? Hmm…

    • > is Asguard some how suggestive of Uranus?

      haha ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜€

      I agree, it’s foolish to expect something like Shakespeare. That would be too much.

  2. The Blade of Light says:

    Indeed it was a very good movie and I was pleasantly surprised ( along with the extra surprise that it is actually one of the rare times that our common friend P. actually made me go to the movies and the movie was REALLY good ! ๐Ÿ˜› ) … I also agree with your review (well, excluding the “squee” parts that is :P), especially on the Heimdall part, who I think was expertly played.

    As far as my favorite character though, being a fan of comedy first and foremost, I have to say that I would pick Jane’s assistant for being a perfect comic relief.

    • Oh, what kind of movies did he take you to in the past? ๐Ÿ˜›
      Haha, I wouldn’t expect you to squee ๐Ÿ˜€
      Glad you agree though ๐Ÿ™‚
      You mean Dr. Selvig ? ๐Ÿ˜›

      • The Blade of Light says:

        > Oh, what kind of movies did he take you to in the past?

        Admittedly I do not remember, because they are really few, but I do remember him telling me about some movies he wants to see and me being like “I am totally not watching this” like those chinese movies with the extreme karate battles with people flying around … everybody says that they are good movie and I do not doubt that … I just don’t like them ๐Ÿ˜›

        > Glad you agree though You mean Dr. Selvig ?

        Selvig was funny as well, but I meant the other assistant, Darcy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I actually haven’t seen the movie yet. I was busy when It was in theaters over here with rehearsals for a production every weekend for weeks and when I finally had the chance to go out with some friends, IT WAS GONE! along with a couple of others… And I really wanted to! I love Norse mythology… something I got from my brother which he got from his love of Norse metal- do you know of Amon Amarth? They seem to be one of his favourite bands.

    Coincidentally though- I think I will be in Greece this summer around when it will be out there, and so I can’t wait to see if I can catch it in cinemas! Haha, tailing it halfway around the globe ๐Ÿ˜›

    you’ve made me really want to see it now though! can’t wait!

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment Mirella ๐Ÿ™‚
      Gone? It’s just recently come out! ๐Ÿ™‚ So you still have a chance! (Plus it came to Greece about a week ago, so I am not sure how long it will be in the cinemas)
      No, I haven’t heard of them, do you recommend a good song I could listen to from them?
      Hehe great! ๐Ÿ˜€ You should definitely watch it! ๐Ÿ™‚ (And then let me know what you thought of it ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Leave a Reply

