The long-awaited cake

As usual, I am late to try trends. This is also the case, when I started to play Portal in 2011 instead of 2007 when it first came out. Oh well.

I’d been hearing about “The cake is a lie” since 2008, when I first saw it scribbled on the wall of an elevator. I was curious, but I didn’t get a straight answer from some guys who knew about it.

Now I finally know. It’s from Portal! The same sentence is scribbled on the walls of the game from a certain point on.

Portal is a first-person puzzle game in which you utilize a gun to create portals in order to move in ways a human wouldn’t be able to otherwise. GLaDOS is the computer in charge of the science facility in which you are at, talking to you in a sweet yet ironic voice. You are in a science facility called Aperture. You are the test subject performing tests for science, of course. GLaDOS uses cake as motivation. The rest I shall not divulge. πŸ˜‰

I urge you to play it! It’s a really good game. It’s very different than any I’ve played. And even though it’s considered a puzzle game, it’s not overly difficult or anything, it has adventure as well, mystery and suspense. πŸ™‚ Let me know what you think!!

P.S. I wrote this post in September. I am publishing it now. Don’t ask me why in the world I didn’t publish it then, but at least I have something to post today, haha πŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “The long-awaited cake

  1. Wow! You are on a roll! πŸ™‚ Yes, it’s always a good idea to just save drafts, which are available to come back to later. Actually, I think that was something you showed me! πŸ˜›

    The game sounds fun. I’ve heard “the cake is a lie” before, but haven’t played the game. It might be more motivating if it used cupcakes, though! πŸ™‚ By the way, did you take the ‘red’ pill or the ‘blue’ pill? πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

