University search is daunting

Help! I’m searching for a Master’s degree in European Universities and it’s overwhelming!!!

I feel like I am drowning under a constant stream of degree titles, University names, and admission deadlines!

I already have over 40 candidates and I am still not done… 😦

I have to research everything about each degree offered, the city, the country and anything else that will influence my decision.

How can I just blindly go ? Of course each University will want to say everything good there is to say about their program. But I need to know if it offers the courses that I want. If they are too theoretical or not. What is the level of the University, is it considered a good one? And I have to contact each one of these? Of course I will narrow down my search more…

I want to make the best decision, but of course it’s difficult. This is a stressful period now but at least it’s not for forever…

9 thoughts on “University search is daunting

  1. The Blade of Light says:

    Well many choices is a good problem the way I see it and things to be considered in addition to the things Jay posted are :

    – The cost of the city which the university is (living cost, transportation and such )
    – If they do not have their program online REJECT them immediately unless they have many other redeeming qualities.
    – Call the administration departments of some of the most prominent choices and take first hand information.
    – Looking for student or post-grad groups in facebook to pose question isanother thing that might help. I mean even my old university has one and we are talking about Greece here πŸ˜›
    – Read about their labs, examine the relevant courses.
    – Decide what you like and some alternative variations of it.
    and finally :
    – Do not let enthusiasm carry you away. Once you clear most of them out, then ask yourself “WHY there ?” find pros and cons and pick the best, cause you deserve it. πŸ˜€

    Good luck and if you need any practical help send me a mail (in the gmail account which I check daily) and I ‘ll be glad to be of help. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the reply and suggestions! πŸ™‚

      Yes, having the courses online is very important indeed. Also having the DESCRIPTION of each course!! Unfortunately not all of them do that, how else will you exactly know what you are up against?

      Hmmm, groups on Facebook, that’s very interesting! I’ll look into it xD

      > find pros and cons and pick the best, cause you deserve it. πŸ˜€

      Aww, thank you ^^ πŸ˜€

      Hmmm I just might take you up on your offer! But probably after I narrow the search down, it’s still quite a list.

      • The Blade of Light says:

        > Hmmm, groups on Facebook, that’s very interesting! I’ll look into it xD

        A friend of mine that went to England for a prograduate actually met almost everyone of the other students via facebook group so maybe it is worth the time. πŸ™‚

        > Hmmm I just might take you up on your offer! But probably after I narrow the search down, it’s still quite a list.

        Cool ! I will be looking forward to it. I like information digging πŸ˜› πŸ™‚

  2. Cherry red spot says:

    Don’t you want to stay in Finland? I heard University of Helsinki is one of the best universities in Europe… And Finland is so beautiful, I can’t wait to spend my summer there (again) πŸ™‚

    • Yes, summer is nice, but winter unfortunately isn’t. Plus, some country that is more in the south might be nice to try πŸ™‚ But you never know what life brings!

      Thanks for commenting! πŸ™‚

  3. Good luck with your search! I know how overwhelming it may be, but over time you will be able to narrow down the searching! I’m proud of you for trying! Bravo!

  4. Take heart! The research you do now will pay dividends later. It’s an important decision so don’t rush into it on a whim. Do your “due diligence” now! If you find that many universties offer pretty much identical programs in what you are looking for then focus on location or cost. I think the order of considerations should be: 1) program content, 2) cost and 3) location. I don’t think “the level of the University” is an important factor as because there is just too much marketing out there suggesting that they are all #1. What’s most important is that you will be motivated by and interested in the program content.

    • Thanks Jay for the comment! Yes, the program is the most important I agree, but it’s difficult (at least in my opinion) to truly know if it is good or not by looking online. They use fancy words and not all of them post the curriculum online. And of course there is the worry if I will discover that this is not for me… But I guess there is always an uncertainty with such things πŸ™‚ I guess we will see based on which one I get accepted to!

Leave a Reply

